Torrance Refining Company LLC (TORC) is proud to once again provide $100,000 in STEAM grants to support teachers in the Torrance Unified School District (TUSD) through the company’s Innovation Education Grant Program (IEGP). This unique program seeks to enhance curricula in science, technology, engineering, arts, and math, commonly known as STEAM.

A total of 24 teachers were awarded grants and their STEAM Projects will be implemented during the 2019-20 school year. To qualify, teachers were required to show a direct link to “Design Thinking” techniques that provide solution-based approaches to problem-solving, while incorporating “Common Core” state education standards and “Next Generation Science Standards” into their curriculum proposals.

We congratulate these grant-winning teachers!

• Grace Hyon, Arnold Elementary

• Jennifer Walsh, Arnold Elementary

• Karen Sasso, Arnold Elementary

• Kathy Black, Arnold Elementary

• Sherri Nelson, Carr Elementary

• Sarah Peterson, Carr Elementary

• Jeanne Coe, Carr Elementary

• Sarah Sepulveda, Hickory Elementary

• Gayle Bond, Hickory Elementary

• Susan J. Park, Seaside Elementary

• Sherry Skari, Towers Elementary

• Judy Kawazoe, Victor Elementary

• Christine Buchalla, Walteria Elementary

• Patrick Donahue, Bert Lynn Middle School

• Liam Gachuz, Madrona Middle School

• Nancy Ton, Madrona Middle School

• Donna Tufail, North High

• Jay Estabrook, North High

• Peter Christian, North High

• Katie Doupe, North High

• Michael Rosenberg, South High

• Nikki Parsons, South High

• Danielle Dwyer, Torrance High

Torrance Refinery employees and community volunteers selected the winning grant proposals. TORC thanks the following volunteers for their time and effort serving on the Grant Selection Committee:

Darren Stroud, TORC Legal Department

• Debbie Hays, Old Torrance Neighborhood Association

• Edmund Golpashin, TORC Environmental Department

• Heather Shohet, TORC Engineering Department

• Jeffrey Snoddy, City of Torrance Office of Emergency Services

• Elia Gutierrez, Resident and TORC Community Advisory Panel (CAP) Member

• Bev Findley, Torrance Rose Float Association

• Vicki Verrell, Resident and TORC CAP Member

• Daisy Mah, TORC

• Kim Kjeldsen, TORC

• Betsy Brien, PBF Energy Western Region

• Adriana Karroum, Torrance Community Member

• Roddy Posada, TORC

• Steve Giffin, TORC

• Neftali Chan, TORC Environmental Department

• Amber Fuller, TORC

• Zhanna Ho, TORC

• Arturo Hernandez, El Camino College

• Tuski Mason, TORC

• Denise Spellman, Torrance Council of PTAs

• Dr. Ramona Chang (Program Advisor), TUSD

• Tera Black (Program Advisor), TUSD